Friday, October 29, 2004

I wish they would turn the heat on
Actually, it's been BEAUTIFUL weather the last couple days...i just really like that song. Also, i just got a new coat in the mail (gracias, madre).
karaoke happened again last night, but not as fun as first time, since we really just did the same shit over again and the dj wasnt very helpful getting our choices up. oh we did do a new one, some might say, which fuckin rocked. anything by oasis, even if i cant do it proper, i will fuckin belt out to the best of my ability.

id just like to say i miss everybody. i was originally about to start typin names in, but then the people that i leave out will hate me, and next to the people who i didnt really get to say goodbye properly to, i dont want anymore people getting all mad at me. sorry guys, i just dont really like goodbyes and i dont feel this really is one. so just know i miss you all, and wish everyone could come hang out. although i also wish just as much i could come home and drink a fucking ice tea with SUGAR and NO LEMON OR PEACH FLAVOR! they dont have regular tea over here. its killing me.

OH AND BY THE WAY. if youd like, you can send me an 'sms', that's euro for txt message. its free, so no excuses from the jew bastards. might wanna do somethign so i know who its from, but i dont know. anyways:
http://sms.oskarmobil.cz/?locale=en
my no. is 775 044 177. lets see how much spam i get now.

Quoted song: Gary P Nunn - London Homesick Blues (i wanna go home with the armadillo)

Wednesday, October 27, 2004

The dust that Pancho bit down south ended up in Lefty's Mouth
somebody pull me out of this rut. music is not coming from me as it once did and i feel like less of a person. well, not coming in manageable chunks, but bits and pieces here and there that get lost like so much meaning.

unrelated, i found out i passed the tefl course, but like the majority of my class, didnt do well enough to be offered a job. damn. right.
must say im a bit relieved but i feel bad for those that really wanted that job. sucks for them and everybody thought they had a guaranteed job. kind of a sham.

now im trying to break some chains:

as many times ive tried to say
just what it is that boils inside
and so many times the words dont come
it makes a mess to wonder why

when time is out and time is come
the hourglass is broken
though chains of doubt may bind us down
nothing now goes unspoken

well that sucks but i got something out. poke fun now.

song of the blog: Pat Green - Holdin on (if you dont know, check this out)

Tuesday, October 26, 2004

Shit...shinola?
Ok before I clarify the reason I got hit in the face with beer, let me point something out. I did my best to not leave any information out of that story. Just about everything that took place, is in there. Read it again...still confused? SO AM I. Fact is, nobody knows WHERE this came from. Im assumign she was just so offended that i would come from the land of george bush and then dare talk to her. well she can fuck off.

Now the shit...having hardly any luck finding a place to live. our 3rd roomate decided to bail on us last night, so this leaves me and bert to start all over again and we really need to decide by tomorrow since thurs is a holiday and we are out on friday. we've seen three places today, all with their own downsides. not alot of upsides, we are really scraping now.

getting sick of all of it and i need to get to work as having no money comes in makes things way more complicated.

Song I remember: Red house painters - have you forgotten?

Monday, October 25, 2004

What would Willie do?
My roomate last night talked me into something (i think hittin a doob) by asking me that question. damn eternal hypotheticals that i cannot resist!

as far as the celebration of no school, MISSION ACCOMPLISHED. We kinda ended up having a party at our apt which ended aroun 11 when we all headed to the party goin on at the cafe here at school. our party was off the chain and i bet our neighbours hate us, and while the school one was kickin, beer wasnt free.

HIGHLIGHT OF THE NIGHT: So I'm sitting outside, drunk, talking to these french folk. I am enjoyin it, cause im doin ok and i havent had the chance to speak it yet. they ask me where im from and when i say Texas, they all kinda groan and mumble george bush. now, like i do in this situation, i just start to explain how although i dont care for the guy, its pointless for me to vote because he is going to win texas. so i'm talking, and then out of the bluest of blues, a full cup of beer hits me...IN THE FACE.
i don't know what to do, so i just kinda sit there, dripping with the 4 people in my general proximity. the bitch who threw it at this point gets up and stomps off while i sit there asking her friend, WHAT HER FUCKING PROBLEM IS. the other bitch is long gone and everyone is still just in shock because it happened so incredibly randomly. NOBODY saw it comin. and i gotta say, im not so mad cause it was a BEAUTIFUL shot.

by the way we never made it to vienna. spending the money on a 1 or 2 day trip would have been a little excessive. we ended up goin to karlovy vary for the day with the intention of hitting up the hot spring spas, but our friends didnt realise this and so didnt bring swimming gear. oh well, next time.

carly come give me a massage PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!

Wish I had: Orbital - Acid Pants

Friday, October 22, 2004

Turn it on, turn it up, turn me loose
..from this bullshit. Thank GOD today is me last day of school. Super super happy about it and not really caring how my lesson goes today. I wont totally bomb, but it wont be my best thats fer sure. But AAAAAAAHHH what a weight off my shoulders.
Looks like we might be heading into vienna fer a night or two on sunday. but then back here to keep apt hunting.

wish me luck if you can and pray if you feel it helps.

Hezký vikend

Since i lost my drive, my 'current music' part of the post might be a little different than normal...
Currentlz thankful for: Gary Allan - Smoke rings in the dark

Tuesday, October 19, 2004

Murder on Music Row

Ah George Strait, how I long for thee. And Willie, Royksopp, Otis, Chemicals, Serge, Noel, even Al...why without you do I feel so alone?

Last night I paid the price for not bitching and just accepting the living room as my temporary private room. I was working on my computer (on the coffee table as usual) and messing with some music I had on my USB hard drive. My fucking roomate is running around being drunk and in the midst of trying to tackle somebody or something, managed to kick the door to the room right into my harddrive, tipping it over with quite a bang. No big deal...except I happened to be USING the drive and it was in the process of accessing something at the very moment it got kicked around. I didn't know this, but THAT'S BAD.
Suddenly, nothing is working. I can't seem to access anything on it as it disapears from my computer. I'm not making the connection yet and so I just start turning it on and off, uninstalling, reinstalling drivers...always with the same result...nula. Finally everybody leaves my fucking room and its now quiet enough for me to hear the click click clik emmenating from the drive below. Off. On. Click. Click. Click. thats not the familiar sound I usually hear when it whirs into existence. My other roomate asks to have a listen. He's heard it before. The fucker got jostled enough to knock something out of place and now instead of spinning to life it just kinda scratches itself around and around.
Much more than a dead piece of fucking metal, I had spent probably a month putting all the music I own onto this drive so I could have something to listen to away from home. Not to mention, I planned on djing once school is out and i have some time. Goodbye to that aspiration. On top of that, there was of course large files I had recorded, some with my friends, which are now all but ephermal mist that have simply ceased to exist in any form.
I feel like dogshit today. Nothing left.
on a positive note, the music part of it is at home and so in two months I can work something out. until then, on my ass i sit.
the cold ear of technology has never felt so frigid.

current music: nothing

Thursday, October 14, 2004

And now for the bastards...
To just kinda even the scales out here, I've just been fucked by one of the guys who had planned to live with us. He's backing out so that a couple other guys can kick out their roomate so he will be stuck with us. Thanks guys. Can't say I wouldn't think about doing it too, but when you play favorites you know it's bound to piss some people off. Right now it's me so fuck you. Do what you want and let that charcter just shine on through, brotha!

currently thinkin of: Unsane - Scrape

Wednesday, October 13, 2004

Damn fine story
Ever have one of those nights where nothing but good vibes swirl all about you, and it just reminds you how grateful you are for genuinely nice people? Ok so that last part sounds a bit sappy and hippy, but I certainly am.

So last Thursday night was karaoke night. Two of our Czech students were kind enough to take me and two of the other teachers here out to this bar where they had a huge stage and of course, karaoke. You can drink in public here, so I began the night at home with the guitar, then loaded up a bottle of Branik (my new favourite chezp czech beer), and headed out the door. It's really god damn liberating to just be getting drunk on the metro. What better to do when yer sitting around in a small enclosure with strangers who could give a fuck who you are or what language you DON'T speak.

Eventually, I arrive a la rendez-vous and meet my friends. We get to the bar and it's not that crowded really. Well, a couple beers later and our little group is up there doing 'Losing my Religion'. A nice start to a LONG list of contemporary hits of the 80s and 90s. I can't remember exactly what all we did, but it included some Elton John and George Micheal - Don't let the sun go down on me (the JAM), some Beatles - Yesterday (how sweet), and of course, the OBLIGATORY Queen - Bohemian Rhapsody. Oh yea and don't even get me started on how much I wrecked shop when Oasis - Wonderwall came on. I was a bit tipsy by then, and I'm not sure how i sounded, but you can't go wrong when you got the liam-stance down like I do. I've always wanetd to do that...

So we eventually get drunk enough and decide to head home around 200am. Oh did I mention I have to teach the next day? Myeh, I was way to happy to giev a fuck. I planned on getting in bed, until I get this text message from my roomates about 6 or 7 people crashing at our place. Ok for those who don't know...we have a two bedroom and I sleep in the living room. I'm definitley very curious on the logistics of this setup, but whatever, I didn't make this decision and they were already on their way.

So I get home before they do and just start jammin on my guitar because I really think it'll be hard to sleep once 9 people show up at my door. About 30 minutes later, in walk my two roomates, one random Canadian guy (whats up Natedogg), and no shit, 6 girls. I'm thinking my roomates have done very well for themselves. HAHA man I was way off. Se what happened was this...my roomates are wandering around and they come across this group of people who had just arrived in Prauge, it's like 10 o clock, and the hotel the booked basically cancelled their reservations. So they are just shit out of luck. My roomates kindly offer them a place to stay. Complete strangers you say? huh? wha? well let me tell you, when these girls started busting out the Rosaries and praying for a cab and to find their way, I'm pretty sure my roomates realised they were probably alright and could be trusted. Yea they were super catholic (I aint hatin!) and were studying at a Catholic school in Austria, visitng Prague for the weekend. What a trip.

So anyway, back to my place...We get through the introductions and just start bullshitting, and I've still got the guitar and one of them mentions this song I had learned to play for Carly. So I just kinda quietly start jammin it, and then these 6 voices all start in, in perfect harmony. It was really quite amazing, these girls could really sing! I had a BLAST and so karaoke basically continued in my living room, now probably 330am.

At this point, my commarade Bert decides it's a great time for Jagermeister. Who here knows what a good idea THAT is? So, a couple shots for the people that live there, a couple shots to new friends, and about half a bottle to Bert, and our night has thoroughly been born again. Bert gets fucking WASTED, spills cereal somehow ALL OVER THE HOUSE, and does all manner of funny drunk things. Me and my new choir just keep goin' at it, Carolina even knew my favorite Dixie Chicks song...at this point I'm definitely not hatin' on Catholics, especially since I was somewhat surprised none of them seemed to care about our cussin and blasphemin that were definitely doing in abundance.

Eventually, the night winds down, they all cram into my roomates bed, he sleeps out in the hall on a mat, and the other dude Nathan gets the couch.

4 hours later and I'm up out the door headed to class with Chris. Poor Bert...hahaha he gets dressed, made it to the door, opened it, shut it, turned around and said FUCK THIS. He never made it to school or teaching. Tsk tsk. I did, and I was still drunk enough during the first part of class to really be a dumbass. What fun!

So anyways blah blah blah the day goes alright and we head home to find our new friends gone, but their stuff still there. Chris had given them a key (maybe not such a great idea in hindsight), so we figured they'd be back. We take a couple naps and then they eventually all stroll in. We start talking and I start asking them about the Rosaries they all wear and what they mean etc. I mention that I kinda think they look cool, and might try to get one. This part blows me away...Maureen says, oh that's cool, have mine. wow. Out of the blue for real. If I learned anything, it's that these beads are super important to someone, and this really made me feel strange, and happy. I thought she couldn't be serious, but she was and she informed me it's from a 'very holy place'. Medjugore, to be exact (look it up yer damn self). So wow, that was incredibly nice and I am still incredibly grateful. Thank you. We end up eating a little dinner (which they paid for for putting them up) and then we split up, not to see them again.

Long enough? you think it's over? NO. Time for me to get to the moral of the story.
Well, I definitely gained a new respect for the Catholic religion. I've always beleived, and I had it proven, that people that are truly devoted really have something alot of us don't. So long as they don't force it on you too, it is just really cool to see, and I really respect anybody with such a strong set of beliefs. Also, I feel that in some way, they did get the message that Jesus tried to deliver across, at least to me. I always felt that Jesus was a good guy, and what his idea stands for really is something worthy of recognition. Kindness, yer know? Just being nice to be nice to be happy. Love. My gift doesn't mean a whole lot to me in a christian way, but it certainly will always remind me that kindness really does exist, as do genuinely (it seems) good people. And isnt that kind of what christianity is all about? In the words of the Chemical Brohters, Love is all. So there, I've said it. Make fun of me now and call me a hippy.

Or just make fun of me cause I linked the chemical brothers to jesus. haha fuck you.

Currently singing: Kumbaya
JUST KIDDING
Currently singing: Dwight Yoakam (because I miss Carly)

Monday, October 11, 2004

Where did all my days go?
Man school and teaching will keep you pretty damn busy. I've been up here for almost 12 hours now, and I'm really not THAT caught up with what i should be doing. I totally abandoned all the reading we have to do for class long ago, because lesson planning for the lessons I do really really keep me busy for hours on end.
I don't even know what's so hard about it, but i seriously hate it. It's one of the most dull things I've ever done, and I can't ever come up with what to do. Teaching aint so bad, but the literal hours i spend beforehand on one 40 minute lesson REALLY piss me off.

So yea, my point is, I don't have as much time to update this all the time. But let's try real quick.

First of all, the city is still great. I have been wandering around at night and am really getting a grasp on how it's all layed out, but I still havent taken a single 'tourist' day to go do just that. I suppose once I get my computer hooked up to the internet and I can send out some pictures I will have more desire. Until then, I am really enjoying just living here.
Did I mention beer is cheaper than water? yea, so alot of that.

I'm getting really hungry so I'm gonna let this go for now...but I will be back. I have a pretty good story that happened and you know it'll be up here soon.

And very importantly, a certain somebody put up a great blog i think for me on my birthday. I don't know if i ever said thank you. I am now. Thank you, that was the nicest thing anybody did for me.

Much love to yall.

currently wishing i was listening to: Everything but the Girl - Back to Mine album

Friday, October 01, 2004

Like the deserts miss the rain
Prague is still great. I have been here for a week and two days now and it feels like fookin nearly a month or more. cant believe it.

School is alot of work. Reading and homework to do which really sucks and then teaching practice really takes the most out of us. Still really new to it, and planning the lesson takes hours. actually executing is always scary cause you worry if you have enough material and if they will understand it. i have managed ok so far and the teacher thinks i do ok when i think i suck. oh well i have that problem alot neh?

starting to miss everybody alot more. all yall really are missed and i want to hear from anyone. my internet access is limited, but generally about every day at least for a few minutes, so hit me up.

oh yea i got fuckin drunk on my birthday. it was actually a national holiday so school was called off and we went out the night before. had to stay out drinking til 5 when the metro started running again. yea thats right, the bars appear to serve all fuckin night. for a birthday present to myself i got a classical guitar that is somewhat old and very authentic from what i can tell. the tag said something about '66jo' but i dont know what that means. made in 66? 66 years old? anyway it sounds fuckin good for around $100. like unbelievable good for that price. but it's a classical and it's different than what im used to, and fingers sound good on it. i am trying to adjust to the wider fretboard and fewer frets...tough but rewarding.

i also have a cell phone now and an address. all incoming calls are free too it rocks. so lemme know if you want it and if you give me an address i am pretty sure i can send some love your way.

i hope carly is doing ok. if anybody sees her please give her a hug for me (and for you you lucky bastard).

currently twangin': Dwight Yoakam - Love caught up to me (dig that slide guitar!!!)